(JR001) Sofaboy - Obvious

[download free]


We're very proud and excited to be able to host Sofaboy's second full length release, ‘Obvious'. Following on from his self-titled 2008 debut on Dead-Channel Recordings, Sofaboy brings us a quality album of banging electro-tech rhythms and harmonious melodies, and being the first recording on Jehm Records, sets the tone perfectly for future releases!

Performed completely live and direct using an Elektron Machinedrum UW and Elektron Monomachine, ‘Obvious' captures the spontaneity of an ‘off the cuff' performance, and encapsulates it in the spirit of a conventional album.

Sofaboy's influences are distinctly evident, amongst them, Aphex Twin, Boards of Canada, Plaid, and Cylob are particularly notable. Speaking about the way in which he creates his music, and the title given to the album, Sofaboy told us “There's definitely no hidden meaning or clever ideas behind the music, it's all music for music's sake, which is all the whole Sofaboy thing has ever been about; switching on the machines, making them perform and having fun in the process”.

The resulting tracks are certainly a joy to listen to, and we hope you love them as much as we do!

(JR001) Sofaboy - ‘Obvious'

1 - Ayurn
2 - Critical Mass
3 - Vedana (Live Rework)
4 - Obvious
5 - Growth
6 - Urgle
7 - Lamps
8 - 3 Piece Suite
9 - FM Dawn